Wednesday, June 5, 2013

June 5 – Mandan, ND



Fort Abraham Lincoln tells the story of several periods of history. The On A Slant Indian Village is an  abandoned Mandan village that has been partially recreated.  Earthlodges were built on the bluff overlooking the river and gardens of corn, beans and squash were planted along the river banks by the women of the tribe.  The men were hunters and defended against other tribes.



The earthlodges were round and constructed of wood and clay. Extended families of 10-15 would live in each. There were as many as 85 earthlodges in the village. They had extensive trading networks.  By 1804 when Lewis and Clark passed this way the Mandan had moved farther up the Missouri to Knife River Village.


A military post was built at this location in1872 to protect workers on the Northern Pacific Railroad.  Lt. Colonel George Armstrong Custer and his wife Libbie lived at Fort Abraham Lincoln from 1873 until his death at the Little Big Horn in 1876. 


Today his house and seven other fort buildings have been rebuilt.  Costumed interpreters take you back to the times of the Custers.







Tuesday, June 4, 2013

June 4 – Bismarck




In late October Lewis and Clark reached the villages of the Mandan and Hidatsa Indians about 35 miles north of present day Bismarck, ND.  They had traveled 1600 miles from the mouth of the Missouri River.  The tribes were friendly, and their villages were the center of commerce for the Indians of the northern plains. Here Lewis and Clark and their men would build a fort and spend the winter.  


It was named Fort Mandan in honor of their neighbors.  It was here that Toussaint Charbonneau came seeking a job as interpreter and was hired because of the native language skills of his wife Sakakawea (Bird Woman).  Her son, Jean Baptiste was born here on February 11. 


Winter was a time of preparation; canoes were made to replace the keelboat that was too large to continue up river.  Meat was dried and moccasins were made.  Lewis wrote volumes to be sent back to Jefferson about what they had seen and specimens they had collected.  On April 7, 1805 the keelboat  began its return voyage with all  the discoveries.  At the same time the Corps of Discovery headed west in the two pirogues and six new canoes.  They hoped to reach the Pacific by an all water route by summer.


Saturday, June 1, 2013

June 1 – Sioux Falls, SD




Sioux Falls is the centerpiece of Falls Park; a lovely place for walks and picnics. The Sioux River has been harnessed for hydroelectric power, grain mills and other commercial uses.  The Little Green Trolley gives narrated tours of town. Many historic buildings are made of local quartzite, a very hard red rock.Sculpture, that is on loan for the summer populates the streets of Sioux Falls. Viewer’s Choice Ballots determine which piece will be added to the town’s permanent collection.


St. Joseph’s Cathedral overlooks the town from a high bluff.